Skip past Navigation


We are an independent charitable Trust and a member of the national federation of Groundwork Trusts.

The Trust is registered both as a charity and a private company limited by guarantee. Our constitution allows each of the company members – Bolton Council, Bury Council, Oldham Council, Rochdale Borough Council and Groundwork UK – to nominate members to the board. In addition up to seven more members may be co-opted to the board. Board members also act as Trustees to the organisation.

Our board members:

The Federation of Groundwork Trusts Nominees

  • Carol Hopkins - Business Investment Manager, Rochdale Development Agency (Jan 2007)
  • Toni Carter - Participation and Skills Support Officer, Early Help and Schools RMBC (July 2015)

Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council Nominees

  • Cllr Howard Sykes MBE (Vice-chair)- Councillor for Shaw, Oldham (May 2000)
  • Tom Stannard, Director of Skills and Enterprise, Oldham Council (May 2016)
  • Cllr Paul Jacques, Councillor for Failsworth East (May 2017)

Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council Nominees

  • Jon Searle - CEO Rochdale Development Agency (Nov 2015)
  • Cllr June West - Councillor for East Middleton (May 2016)

Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council Nominees

  • Cllr David Chadwick - Councillor for Westhoughton South, Bolton (May 2015)

Bury Metropolitan Borough Council Nominees

  • Cllr Susan Southworth - Councillor for Elton, Bury (May 2015)

Co-opted Nominees

  • John Bland (Chair) - Treasurer and Deputy Clerk GMWDA (Feb 2011)
  • Lorna Bustard - Trustee Service Improvement Manager, Community Saftey, Leeds City Council (May 2015)
  • Ian Whittaker - Independent Community Member (Feb 2014)

*dates in brackets indicate the date joined Trust Board

Navigate to:
Our impact

Our history
Latest news