About the Levels system

There are five Levels within the Green Dragon Environmental Standard®.

Level 1: Commitment to Environmental Management

Level 2: Understanding environmental responsibilities

Level 3: Managing environmental impacts

Level 4: Environmental Management Programme

Level 5: Continual environmental improvement


To realise continual environmental improvement, each step each incorporates the key elements of:

  • planning
  • taking action
  • checking progress
  • reviewing achievements

Organisations can choose the level that is appropriate to the nature and scale of their activities and on achieving any level will receive a Certificate.

Levels 2-5 will be entitled to use the Green Dragon Logo on their corporate literature.

Levels 3-5 are eligible to purchase the Green Dragon Environmental Standard® Plaque.


For further information please call the Groundwork Wales Office on 01495 222065